By, law, the county clerk's office is the only agency permitted to issue marriage licenses. All marriage license applications are permanently filed, as are marriage records.
- Marriage License information line: 505-768-4314
- Both applicants need to be present
- Both need to be at least 18 years of age
- Both need current legal pictured ID, or birth certificate
- Both need proof of Social Security number
- Couples living in foreign countries need a passport
- Parental consent if 16 or 17 years of age
- Court order needed if 15 years of age
- No medical exam or waiting period is required
- If previously married, the date of divorce or date of spouse's death must be supplied
- Marriage licenses are issued and valid immediately
- Marriage licenses do not expire
- License purchased in any New Mexico county, can be used state-wide
- Marriage license must be brought to the ceremony to be signed by two witnesses and the minister
- A Justice of the Peace is normally a Magistrate Judge, Municipal Judge, or Probate Judge may perform ceremony. Including, a District Judge upon request. Any person credentialed by a religious society can perform a marriage in the State of New Mexico
- Proxy Marriage: No
- Common Law Marriage: No
- Cousin Marriage: Yes
Residency Requirements: What are the residency requirements for New Mexico? None. You do not have to be a previous or current resident of New Mexico to obtain a marriage license that is valid statewide
Miscellaneous: License is valid for one year. The New Mexico marriage license information is 505-768-4314.
Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding plans. Click on the link below for information on your county clerk office.